Skip to main content.
Google custom search

NetBSD: Recent Changes and News

On this page you will find a summary of significant changes to NetBSD. For those interested in every change to the source tree, there is no substitute for subscribing to the source-changes mailing list. Significant news related to the NetBSD Project is also included here. Changes to pkgsrc are also listed here. All of this information is also available in rss/xml format.

January 2016

October 2015

January 2016

1 Jan 2016 - Stable pkgsrc-2015Q4 branch released (top)

The pkgsrc developers are proud to announce the pkgsrc-2015Q3 branch. There are 16846 possible packages in pkgsrc-2015Q4, up from 16764 last quarter. Notable new packages this quarter include kodi (home media center software previously known as xbmc), php-baikal (a CardDAV/CalDAV server), freecol (a Colonization clone), unicorn (a CPU emulator framework), and clang-static-analyzer.

See the release announcement for more information.

01 Jan 2016 - New Developers (top)

The NetBSD project is pleased to welcome the following new developers:

  • Ritesh Agrawal (login: ragrawal), who will be working on networking.
  • Guilherme Salazar (login: salazar), who will be working on kernel.

October 2015

22 Oct 2015 - New Security Advisory: NetBSD-SA2015-009 TCP LAST_ACK state memory exhaustion (top)

One new security advisory was published:

You can find more information about them on the Security and NetBSD page.

14 Oct 2015 - New NetBSD Board of Directors (top)

The NetBSD developers recently elected new board members. The current directors on The NetBSD Foundation Board are: Erik Berls, William J. Coldwell. Jeremy C. Reed, SAITOH Masanobu, Matthew Sporleder, S.P.Zeidler, and Christos Zoulas. The new president is William J. Coldwell. (The other officers continue in their existing positions.)

Thank you to the outgoing board members and former presidents: Amitai Schlair and Matthias Scheler.

See The NetBSD Foundation, Inc. webpage for more information about the Foundation and the board members.